Sometimes places deserve a second chance


When Angelica opened over 2 years ago, I was excited to try it as I knew it was co-owned by Chef Marcos Gershkovitz, who had just left my then favorite restaurant, Canela.   It was Succot (2008) and they had a beautiful Succah set up at the side of the restaurant and 7 of us went to celebrate a family birthday. Unfortunately both my father and I had to send back our steaks as they were unbearably salty and we were told that the salt was a result of the koshering process – something other kosher restaurants, including Canela, do not seem to have a problem with.  To make matters worse, the chef came out to personally greet the only other table in the Succah and instead of coming over and greeting us and apologizing for the problem with the steak – he chose to ignore us.  The result – we chose not to go back.
However, after hearing good things about it from a number of people and as Canela no longer holds pride of place in our hearts, my parents and I decided to go back and give Angelica a second chance.
Angelica Restaurant with the anti pasti table
The restaurant is located on Rehov Shatz, a small pedestrian only street, off King George in the center of town and it is attached to The Montefiore Hotel.  The décor is sumptuous, it is very spacious and they have a private dining room.  The restaurant was almost full but it was neither loud nor cramped and we were fortunate to have a table in the side section of the restaurant by the large window.  I especially liked the large wooden table they have in the middle of the restaurant with antipasti platters on it, from which the waiters chose a selection for all diners when they arrive.
There was a lot to choose from on the menu and Angelica ’s reputation for serving local and seasonal produce was clear from the dishes on the menu.  If we had known we would be getting a huge plate of anti pasti and delicious Italian style breads, we might not have ordered starters as well as mains, but of course we had already ordered before they arrived, so we were forced to enjoy it all.  Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable.  He happily made recommendations and I am not sure if he was the official sommelier but he also advised us on a delicious half bottle of Bravdo Shiraz 2008 to go with our meal, which came in a petite glass carafe.
I started with the Beef fillet tartare with raw quail yolk & arugula salad (58) – it was perfectly seasoned and was authentically served with the egg in the middle for me to mix myself.    My mother had an Endive salad with roasted beets & fried gnocchi (46) which was a beautiful array of colors on the plate.  For main, she had Stuffed chicken with warm burgul salad which was a very generous portion (as it is very acceptable to ask restaurants to wrap leftovers, I finished this for my lunch the next day).  My father and I both ordered a 200 gram Sirloin steak (96), medium rare.  It came perfectly cooked with grilled vegetables on the side, but there was no question that it was saltier than it should have been.  It was not unpleasant so we both enjoyed our steaks but there is obviously something the chef does to his steaks that makes them salty.
Without question, I would go back to Angelica but it was an all-round good meal.  For me, the starters were the best part of the meal and next time, I will avoid ordering a steak so I can try some of the other mouth-watering main dishes and possibly leave room for a dessert!
3 thoughts on “Sometimes places deserve a second chance

  1. Pingback: Succot in the Holy City | singleintheholycity

  2. Pingback: Eating well at Pesach | singleintheholycity

Leave a Reply

